Hall of Fame


Recognizing the Individuals who helped Lowriding become the most recognized Custom Classic Car Culture in the World

The objective of the Lowrider Hall of Fame is to re-introduce and educate today's enthusiasts about the History and Traditions of the Lowriding Culture we worship today. Lowriding is the world wide phenomenon that is widespread amongst anyone and everyone who has a passion for the one of a kind classic & custom automobile artistry. You may ask, who started the movement? Who are the ones who are responsible that have inspired today's automotive artists and leaders? Who are the legends in the game that set forth the standards that became traditions today? Well, Lowrider has always understood the importance of educating the enthusiasts, including the younger generations about lowriding's cultural and political roots. More importantly, we believe it to be our duty to recognize those Individuals who paved the way for us through their sacrifice and dedication, the ones who have inspired us all to continue in their paths and keep their legacies alive. Lowrider Magazine proudly introduced the Lowrider Hall of Fame back in 2005 to honor such individuals and bring their untold stories to light.

The Lowrider Hall of Fame inductees are chosen according to individual achievement and/or a positive role in the lifestyle, sport, and culture throughout Lowrider history. Fortunately, there are many great leaders who are very well respected in our Cultural Automotive sport today. However, the Lowrider Hall of Fame acknowledges those leaders with a minimum involvement of 20 years, in some aspect, in this history. Lowrider’s Hall of Fame Nomination Committee, consists of the Brand Managing /Editor, Richard Ochoa, Eddie Zamarron, Event Judges and past Honorees, whom all submit their nominations to the Lowrider Hall of Fame Executive Committee. These nominations are thoroughly reviewed and the final inductees are confirmed and voted upon by the Executive Committee. The Hall of Fame category Honors are as follows:

Lifetime Contributor Honor
A community leader and/or activist with a lifelong dedication of time, resources and heart in contributing, influencing and/or investing directly back into the lowrider community. This category may include individuals who promote lowrider events that simultaneously educate and entertain such community.

Craftsmanship Honor
Designer, builder, artist in creating original and outstanding vehicles. Also, exhibiting these vehicles for a consistent period of time.

Leadership Honor
A founder/leader, who has directly affected the course, actions, contributions and positive influence of a recognized and organized group and/or car club.

Previous inductees of the Hall of Fame Classes ( 2005 - 2010) have set a high standard for future members. A recap of those honored are as follows: The first ever (2005) Leadership Honor was awarded to Julio Ruelas, founder of the Duke's Car Club. The Craftsmanship Honor was awarded to Bob Mercado of Bob & Sons Upholstery. The Lifetime Contributor Honor was awarded to "El Larry" Gonzales of Lowrider Magazine and L.G. Productions.

The 2006 Lowrider Hall of Fame sophomore class is as follows: The Leadership Honor was awarded to Joe Ray President of the Lifestyle Car Club. The Craftsmanship Honor was awarded to Mario De Alba, Sr. of Elite Car Club. The Lifetime Contributor Honor was awarded to Nick Hernandez of Texas Tours and Taste of Latin Car Club.

The Class of 2007 Honorees were the following: The Leadership Honor was awarded to Ricardo Alvarado, President of the Oldies Car Club; The Craftsmanship Honor belonged to Ted Wells of the Professionals Car Club; and The Lifetime Contributor Honor Award went to Jesse Valadez of the Imperials Car Club. The Memorial Honor went to Joey Abeyta Jr. the Groupe car club legendary President.

The Inductees Class of 2008 went to Kita Siliva Lealoa, who garnered the coveted Leadership Honor, he exemplified what the USO car club of spirit of unity are today. The Lifetime Contributor Honor was awarded to Fernando Ruelas, President of the Dukes Car Club. Ruben "Buggs" Ochoa received the Craftsmanship Honor, an award designated for designers, builders, and artists who have created and exhibited outstanding vehicles for a consistent period of time. The Memorial Honor went to Mr. Gary May the Wizard of pumps and dumps.

The Lowrider Hall of Fame ’09 Class Inductees were as follows - Lifetime Achievement Honor went to Richard Ochoa President of the Society car club, Arizona. The Craftsmanship Award Honor was received by Eddie Tovar and the Leadership Honor went to Mr. Harvey Reyes President of the Carnales Unidos car club, Bakersfield. The Memorial Honor went to the well know and loved Luis “Barr” Barrios of the Lifestyle car club.

Lowrider Hall of Fame Class of 2010 Honorees were proudly and respectfully introduced beginning with the Memorial Honor Award that went to Richard "Big Rich" Gonzales of the Majestics car club, Az Chapter. The Craftsmanship Honor went to Andy Douglas of Adex Hydraulics and the Leadership Honor was presented to Mr.George Luna whom also can play the Piano. The Lifetime Contributor Honor was received by Ralph Fuentes, Lowrider Editor and Car builder.

Lowrider is honored to bring back the Lowrider Hall of Fame and Celebrate the Class of ’22 at the Las Vegas Super Show. This Year there will be a total of five recipients including two Memorial Honorees. The well recognized Leadership, Lifetime, and Craftsmanship Award Inductees will also be receiving their own exclusive Lowrider Hall of Fame Rings. This Memorable Event will only take place on Labor Day Weekend, Saturday, September 3rd, 6pm at the Las Vegas Convention Centers Main Stage.

The following list of Candidate names have been Nominated by the Hall of Fame Inductees. The Lowrider Hall of Fame Executive Committee thouroghly reviews each Nomination before the Voting Process takes place to induct this Years Class of ’22 Award Recipients.

Michael Tovar
Alejandro Vega
Eric Wisterman
Frank Castillo
Oscar Ruelas
Mike Lopez
Anthony Fuentes
Fabien Villarreal
Mike Pickle
Abel Izaq “aka OG Abel
Alberto Herrera -Muralist
Johnny Salters
“Big Ed” Painter
Chris Roark
Benny Ramos - Imperials
DMack Darwin Wilson Majestics
Joe Romero
Doug Vigil New Style
Tomas Vasquez
Jorge Ramirez Originals
Dwight Individuals
Alberto Lopez
Eddie “Texas Ed” Zamarron
Troy Staehler
Benny Ramos
Frank Castillo
Danny Ochoa
Johnny Lozoya
Tweet Professionals
Sonny Madrid
David Leal Sr.
Luis Morales
Mario Gomez
Lester Ray
Jose Martinez
Doc Painter
Danny D
Walt Prey

Lowrider will Proudly Announce this Years Hall of Fame Class of 2022 Award Honor recipients this Friday at 5pm on the Lowrider Garage Video Series. Each inductee will have a Bio and Video, featured digitally on lowriderexperience.com and lowrider.com along with instagram & facebook social channels including You Tube.

Any and all Information for this Super Ceremony at the Vegas Super Show Labor Day weekend, including reserved attendance will be forth coming!
Thank you for all of your support everyone, as this is Our Hall of Fame.

Respectfully, Joe Ray